A blog for Joe Henry fans

zaterdag 18 november 2017

Steep Canyon Rangers's 'Out in the open' Release date

The upcoming album by the 'Steep Canyon Rangers', which is  produced by Joe, will be released on January 26, 2018.

The album is entitled 'Out in the Open'.

 Gratefulweb has more info and tourdates  :
In July 2017, Steep Canyon Rangers arrived at Fidelitorium Recordings in Kernersville, NC, an intimate studio facility built, owned, and operated by legendary producer Mitch Easter (R.E.M., Let’s Active). Having not previously discussed Henry’s plans, the band was surprised to discover that their producer – with the invaluable help of engineer/mixer Jason Richmond – intended to record in classic fashion, with all six members singing and playing in a room with no overdubs. Though Steep Canyon Rangers had some trepidation, they promptly rose to the challenge.

Rollingstone gives us a pre-listen of the single 'Going Midwest'. A song inspired by the Novel The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Sharp, Platt and Ashworth recorded the song in one take that was initially meant to be a dry run. As producer Joe Henry tells Rolling Stone Country, it was clear that they'd nailed it on the first try. “What I heard conjured before me that moment was not only rich, soulful and heartbreaking, but as well, rendered with a simplicity and humility that defies the deft artistry that allows it,"

Some footage while playing this 1-take recording, and some more back info.

Previously, we also could hear the song 'The speed we're travelling'.

You can already pre-order this album. 
Full Tracklist :

  • Farmers And Pharaohs
  • Let Me Out Of This Town
  • Out In The Open
  • Can’t Get Home
  • Going Midwest
  • When She Was Mine
  • Love Harder
  • Shenandoah Valley
  • Best Of Me
  • Roadside Anthems
  • Let Me Die In My Footsteps
  • The Speed We’re Traveling

Geen opmerkingen:

Een reactie posten